Author Topic: Making walls rotate  (Read 348 times)

Offline Dimsar01

  • General Member
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Making walls rotate
« on: June 12, 2019, 07:35:45 pm »
Hi! Is it possible to make a wall rotate to a specific degree by pressing a button I've put somewhere in my building?

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter


Offline QuarioQuario54321

  • Contributor Level I
  • *
  • Posts: 152
  • Location: Michigan, United States
    • View Profile
Re: Making walls rotate
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2019, 07:54:54 pm »
Hi! Is it possible to make a wall rotate to a specific degree by pressing a button I've put somewhere in my building?
Yes, but I’m not sure how.
Useful Useful x 1 View List

Offline Dimsar01

  • General Member
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Making walls rotate
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2019, 06:06:03 am »
Thanks for the info!

So yeah, if someone knows I'd appreciate that  :)

Offline HappyPizza64

  • Contributor Level I
  • *
  • Posts: 109
  • I have far too much ABBA on my playlist
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland
    • View Profile
    • Flickr
Re: Making walls rotate
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2019, 10:24:31 am »
Thanks for the info!

So yeah, if someone knows I'd appreciate that  :)
Hi, I think that you'd need to do it with an AddAction command. You could do something like:
Code: [Select]
AddAction TurnWall1, Wall, TurnWall__Degressthen
Code: [Select]
AddActionControl TurnWall1, wallsound.wav, left (Direction), 0 (X), 2 (Z), 1, 1, 3.5, 1, TurnWall__Degrees, TurnWall1ButtonJust thought I'd tell you!
Thanks a mil,

- HP64

Timezone: GMT
Useful Useful x 1 View List

Offline Dimsar01

  • General Member
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Making walls rotate
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2019, 11:12:26 am »
Just thought I'd tell you!
Ok thanks! I'll try and see if it works

Offline Dimsar01

  • General Member
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Making walls rotate
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2019, 11:45:08 am »
Just thought I'd tell you!
Okay, so this is the code I used:

AddAction TurnWall1, testWall, TurnWall__90
AddAction TurnWall2, testWall, TurnWall__0
AddActionControl Control1, , left, 147.40, -375.85, 1, 1, 4, 2, TurnWall1, TurnWall2, BUTGR, BUTRE

The problem seems to be the action (TurnWall__90 or TurnWall__0) as in the console seems to execute the action but nothing happens when I press the button/action control.
The console writes:
0> Clicked on object 1199: Mesh: Control1, Wall: Control1
0> Action 'TurnWall1': object 'testWall' using command 'turnwall90'
Useful Useful x 1 View List

Offline NothingCanStopMe357

  • Contributor Level I
  • *
  • Posts: 172
  • Contributor to SSF. Innovation is key to success.
  • Location: Multiple places. Usually Scratchland and Skyscrapersimcity
    • View Profile
    • My Scratch Account
Re: Making walls rotate
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2023, 11:28:22 am »
Just thought I'd tell you!
Okay, so this is the code I used:

AddAction TurnWall1, testWall, TurnWall__90
AddAction TurnWall2, testWall, TurnWall__0
AddActionControl Control1, , left, 147.40, -375.85, 1, 1, 4, 2, TurnWall1, TurnWall2, BUTGR, BUTRE

The problem seems to be the action (TurnWall__90 or TurnWall__0) as in the console seems to execute the action but nothing happens when I press the button/action control.
The console writes:
0> Clicked on object 1199: Mesh: Control1, Wall: Control1
0> Action 'TurnWall1': object 'testWall' using command 'turnwall90'
The action “TurnWall” does not exist in Skyscrapersim, although I do think this would be a good feature.

Available commands are available here: https://www.skyscrapersim.net/guide/
Together, we can innovate Skyscrapersim in many ways that has never been seen before. Just bring up an idea and we can implement it!